Principal Musician Sponsorship Program

Supporting our Columbus Symphony musicians

Supporting our Columbus Symphony musicians is a vital endorsement of your passion for transformative music in our community. By participating in the chair sponsorship program, the Columbus Symphony can continue to retain outstanding musicians, programming of the highest artistic excellence, and maintain the highest quality of life in central Ohio.

Approximately one-third of the CSO’s $9 million budget pays for musician salaries and benefits. The Columbus Symphony employs more local artists than any other organizations in Columbus.

Sponsoring a musician is a meaningful way to underwrite the art form that makes symphonic music accessible for diverse audiences throughout central Ohio.

With annual naming rights, you will receive:

  • Recognition in the Bravo program book and on the CSO website
  • Annual dinner with your sponsored Musician, Music Director, and Executive Director
  • Invitations to special and exclusive events
  • Special updates and communication from your sponsored musicians

(No more than 2 donor households combined to underwrite chair.)

2022-2023 Sponsored Chairs include:

  • Jack and Joan George Concertmaster Chair, Joanna Frankel
  • Michael and Arlene Weiss Principal Second Violin Chair, Alicia Hui
  • Ross and Pat Bridgman Violin Chair, Robert Firdman
  • Gay Su Pinnell Principal Viola Chair, Karl Pedersen
  • Andy and Sandy Ross Principal Cello Chair, Luis Biava
  • Gay Su Pinnell Assistant Principal Cello, Wendy Morton
  • Rhoma Berlin Principal Clarinet Chair, David Thomas
  • Sheldon and Rebecca Taft Principal Bassoon Chair, Betsy Sturdevant
  • Nationwide Principal Bass Chair, Rudy Albach
  • Linda and Joe Chlapaty Chair, Mark Grisez
  • Lisa and Chris Barton Trumpet Chair, Jeffrey Korak
  • American Electric Power Foundation Principal Chair, Benjamin Ramirez

*Reinberger Foundation Principal Piano Chair, Caroline Hong
*Existing Principal Chairs

Naming Opportunities

Principal Musicians Section Musicians
Assistant Principal Second Violin, Rhonda Frascotti Violin, David Edge
Assistant Principal Viola, Brett Allen Violin, Joyce Fishman
Assistant Principal Bass, John Pellegrino Violin, Tatiana V. Hanna
Principal Flute, Niles Watson Violin, Gail Norine Sharp
Principal Horn, Brian Mangrum
Violin, Zoran Stoyanovich
Associate Principal Horn, Julia Rose Violin, David Tanner
Principal Trombone, Andrew Millat Violin, Jonquil Thoms
Principal Oboe, Hugo Souza Violin, Gyusun Han
  Violin, Zhe Deng
  Violin, Autumn Chodorowski
  Viola, Kenichiro Matsuda
  Viola, Steven Wedell
  Viola, Spencer Ingersoll
  Viola, Alice Risov
  Cello, Pei-An Chao
  Cello, Victor Firlie
  Cello, Yoni Draiblate
  Bass, Russell Gill
  Bass, Jena Huebner
  Flute, Lydia Roth
  English Horn, Robert Royse
  Clarinet, Mark Kleine
  Bassoon, Douglas Fisher
  Horn, Adam Koch