Board of Trustees


Our mission is to provide symphonic music and educational programs of the highest quality, to engender passion and excitement in our diverse audiences.

Our mission is implemented by:

    Serving our audiences and engaging our communities, recognizing that they are the foundation of a sustainable future for the Columbus Symphony Orchestra;
    Embracing a wide variety of musical styles in order to enhance the experience of the symphonic repertoire through traditional and innovative approaches to programming, format, and venue;
    Expanding youth performance and training opportunities though the Columbus Symphony Youth Orchestras;
    Providing vibrant and imaginative educational programs to diverse audiences of all ages to augment and intensify their experiences with symphonic music;
    Strengthening our involvement with the youth in our communities through partnerships with schools, libraries, teachers, and community programs;
    Committing to maintaining vital partnerships among our musicians, staff, volunteers, and Board members, to promote creativity, enthusiasm, energy, and engagement in order to bring fresh ideas, perspective, and passion to all operations of the Columbus Symphony Orchestra; and,
    Continuing to maintain a financially sustainable organization through prudent financial management and aggressive development, marketing, and fundraising activities.


Board of Trustees


Lisa Barton, Chair - President and COO, AEP Transmission Holding Company Executive Vice President—AEP Transmission, American Electric Power

Robert E. Morrison, Jr., Vice Chair - Senior Vice President – Huntington Bank/Huntington Trust

Alan Litzelfelner, Treasurer - President & CEO—Central Management Co.

Amy Shore, Secretary - President, P&C Exclusive Distribution – Nationwide Insurance



Matthew Allyn, Vice President Origination Midwest & Mid-Atlantic, Infinite Energy, Inc.

Kurt Bendeck, Vice President Corporate Controller, Safelite Group

G. Ross Bridgman, Retired Partner—Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease, LLP

Robert Cochran, Retired Partner, PDS Planning, Inc.

Michael P. Foley, SVP Director, PNC Wealth Management

Kenneth M. Freedman, Vice President and General Manager, NBC4/WCMH-TV

Hector Garcia, Senior Counsel, Regulatory Services – American Electric Power

Jack George, Retired Director of Endocrinology, OSU Wexner Medical Center

Marilyn Harris, Community Volunteer

Cindy Hilsheimer, Managing Principal—BeecherHill

Terry Hoppmann, Limited Partner – Edward Jones

Michelle Kerr, President and Chairman – Lightwell

Talvis Love, SVP & Chief Information Officer, Pharmaceutical Segment, EIT – Cardinal Health

Varun Mahajan, Chief Executive Officer, Mahajan Therapeutics

Jane Mattlin, Trustee, Mattlin Foundation; President, Mattlin Company

David Milenthal, Chair, EmpowerSaves

Christine Shumway Mortine, Commercial Pilot CFI CFII MEI; Soprano, Conductor

Gay Su Pinnell, Professor Emeritus – The Ohio State University

Steve Snethkamp, Advisory Partner, Ernst & Young

Michael Weiss, Retired CEO, Express

Nelson Yoder, Principal, Development, Crawford Hoying


Ex-Officio Trustees

Denise Rehg, Executive Director, Columbus Symphony

Jane McKinley, President—Friends of the Columbus Symphony

Lyn Savidge, President—Columbus Symphony League

Karl Pedersen, Member—Orchestra Committee

Betsy Sturdevant, Chair—Orchestra Committee


Honorary Trustees

Gene D’Angelo

Ronald A. Pizzuti

Zuheir Sofia