Sustaining Excellence Circle

Support of the Sustaining Excellence initiative ensures the long-term success of the Columbus Symphony, supporting artistic quality, audience development, deeper community engagement, and life-long learning for central Ohioans of all ages.


  • Orchestra performances of the highest artistic standards
  • World-renowned guest artists
  • Diverse repertoire, ranging from the familiar to the challenging
  • Local and national recognition for excellence


  • Programming that appeals to a broad and diverse audience
  • Innovative programs that make the CSO accesible to all
  • Stretegic marketing that reflects new mediums for reaching younger audiences


  • Musicians live, work, and teach throughout central Ohio
  • Efforts aligned with broader community goals
  • CSO programming contributes to the local economy and the city's quality of life
  • Quality attracts and retains businesses and contributes to recruiting and sustaining talent


  • K-12 students and young musicians: Young People's Concerts, Concerts in Schools, six Youth Orchestras, and Young Musicians' Competition
  • Families: Concerts for Kids and Popcorn Pops
  • Adults: Free Happy Hour Concerts and Pre-Concert Talks
  • Community: Outreach concerts at communit-wide locations


  • In addition to your continued support of the CSO Annual Fund, donations to Sustaining Excellence of $1,000 and above offer membership in an exclusive circle of passionate supporters of the Columbus Symphony, and demonstrate your commitment to artistic excellence and the transformative power of great music throughout our community.
  • The Sustaining Excellence Circle offers special benefits that give members opportunities to meet visiting guest artists, attend private events and gain exclusive access behind the scenes of the CSO.


  • Diamond | $25,000
  • Platinum | $10,000
  • Gold | $5,000
  • Silver | $1,000

Founding members of the Sustaining Excellence Circle

ADS Dr. Lyman L. Leathers
Lois H. Allen Alan and Ginny Litzelfelner
Chris and Lisa Barton Michael Ranney
Mrs. Rhoma Berlin Nancy and Tom Lurie
Jim and Susan Berry Angela and Michael Mahaffey
Mr Alfred Bivins John B. and Jane McCoy
Ms. Nadine A. Block Lawrence and Katherine Mead
Belle M. Boles Joseph and Johanna Meara
G. Ross and Patricia Bridgman Anne Melvin
Mr. Don M. Castro Ted and Karen Meyer
Joseph A. and Linda J. Chlapaty Barbara and Mervin Muller
Robert A. and Susan Cochran Anne Powell-Riley
Mrs. Loann W. Crane Sandra and Howard Pritz
Dr. Johanna DeStefano

Richard L. and Ann L. Royer

Jeffrey W. & Lisa A. Edwards Robert and Anita Smialek
Cornelia Ferguson George and Patricia Smith
Ted and Allison Finn Ernest and Aurelia Stern
Michael and Cynthia Gardner Kim and Judith Swanson
Eydie and Don Garlikov Sheldon A. and Rebecca R. Taft
Norman Gearhart Mrs. Jacqueline Thomas
Joy and Michael Gonsiorowski Jennifer Tiell and Mark Adelsperger
Don and Marilyn Harris David H. and Rachel B. Timmons
Cindy and Larry Hilsheimer Robert W. and Kathleen M. Trafford
Mr. and Mrs. Martin Inglis Craig D. and Connie Walley
Tad and Nancy Jeffrey Gifford Weary and David Angelo
Mr. Morris A. Jones Tom and Gwen Weihe
Linda and Frank Kass Lowell and Thomas Williams
Mrs. Mary Lazarus