Event Calendar

The Return of Natasha Paremski

Rossen Milanov, conductor
Natasha Paremski, piano

Lutosławski: Symphony No. 1
Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Anna Clyne:This Moment
Strauss: Rosenkavalier Suite

Audience favorite pianist Natasha Paremski returns to the Ohio Theatre with Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, a dazzling work inspired by Paganini’s Caprice No. 24 for violin. Witold Lutosławski began work on his first symphony while living in occupied Warsaw in the early 1940s. Perhaps reflecting these harsh conditions, this energetic and complex work was banned by the Polish government shortly after its premiere and was not performed again for a decade.

Enjoy a new Columbus Symphony co-commission by Grammy-nominated composer Anna Clyne, who has been described by the New York Times as a “composer of uncommon gifts and unusual methods.” Richard Strauss’ sparkling Rosenkavalier Suite is drawn from his comic opera, a glamorous love story set in Vienna.

Anna Clyne's This Moment was commissioned by the League of American Orchestras with generous support of the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation. 

Prelude: Join Rossen for a pre-concert discussion at 6:30pm.