Event Calendar

Tchaikovsky & Prokofiev

Rossen Milanov, conductor
Joanna Frankel, violin

Caroline Shaw: Entr'acte
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4

Hear Columbus Symphony concertmaster Joanna Frankel perform Prokofiev’s hauntingly beautiful second violin concerto, a staple of the solo violin repertoire.

Also on the program, Rossen Milanov leads the orchestra’s string section in Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw’s Entr’acte, originally written as a string quartet and later expanded for string orchestra.

Tchaikovsky privately wrote notes about his fourth symphony, describing its opening as “Fate, the fatal power which hinders one in the pursuit of happiness,” with the work’s concluding message “Rejoice in the happiness of others and you can still live.”

Friday Coffee Dress: April 19, 2024 I 10am

Prelude: Join WOSU Classical 101’s Christopher Purdy for a pre-concert discussion at 6:30pm.