Event Calendar

Schubert Symphony No. 4,'Tragic'

Rossen Milanov, Conductor

February 17 & 18, 2023 | 7:30pm

Rossen Milanov, conductor
David Thomas, clarinet  

Price: Andante ma non troppo from Symphony No. 3
Brahms: Clarinet Sonata (arr. Berio)
Schubert: Symphony No. 4 in C Minor, 'Tragic'

Composed in 1938 and premiered in 1940, Florence Price’s Symphony No. 3 was commissioned by the Works Progress Administration’s Federal Music Project during the height of the Great Depression.

Johannes Brahms’ Clarinet Sonata contains many dramatic and sublime themes, with each movement contrasting sharply from the others and performed by our own extraordinary Principal Clarinetist, David Thomas. This arrangement by Luciano Berio stays true to Brahms’s orchestral style.

Completed by 19-year-old Franz Schubert in 1816 and premiered in 1849, his Symphony No. 4, like most of his works, was never published nor publicly performed until after his death at age 31.

Prelude: Join Music Director Rossen Milanov for a pre-concert talk starting at 6:30pm.