Event Calendar

Rachmaninoff & Sibelius

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Elina Vähälä, violin

COWELL Ancient Desert Drone
SIBELIUS Concerto in D Minor for Violin and
Orchestra, Op. 47
RACHMANINOFF Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 27

Praised by the Chicago Tribune as "a musician whose brilliant technique is matched by abundant spirit, sensitivity and imagination,"  violinist Elina Vähälä channels all the fire and poetic atmosphere of the mighty concerto by her fellow native of Finland, Jean Sibelius. Also featured is the sumptuous Romanticism of Rachmaninoff's melodious Symphony No. 2 and American composer Henry Cowell's Ancient Desert Drone.

Audio Clip
Rachmaninoff & Sibelius: Nov. 3, 2012

Performance Sponsored by