Event Calendar

Mendelssohn’s “Scottish,” Copland, and Beethoven

Jayce Ogren, conductor
David Thomas, clarinet

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21
COPLAND: Clarinet Concerto
MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 56 (“Scottish”)

The rustic romanticism of Mendelssohn and the coarseness of youthful Beethoven are juxtaposed with a virtuosic concerto written for the legendary jazz clarinetist Benny Goodman, performed by David Thomas, Principal Clarinetist of the Columbus Symphony.

Prelude: Christopher Purdy