Link Up: The Orchestra Sings

  LINK UP: The Orchestra SINGS!

           WEDNESDAY MAY 4, 2022       

    10 am & 11:40 am


In partnership with Carnegie Hall’s Weill Music Institute

The Columbus Symphony Orchestra is proud to partner with Carnegie Hall's Weill Music Institute to present LINK UP: The Orchestra Sing! This highly participatory program for students in grades 3-5 unites the classroom with the concert hall, giving students the opportunity to explore music through a year-long curriculum of classroom activities and then attend a culminating concert where they sing and play recorders with the orchestra from their seats. Teachers may choose from one of three program paths, Basic, Basic+, or Advanced, depending on the level of involvement they would like to have for their students. 

Link Up with the Columbus Symphony

To watch the Carnegie Hall video about this highly interactive program, click here.

THE ORCHESTRA SINGS! Repertoire includes:
  • Simple Gifts 

  • Variation on a Shaker Melody from Appalachian Spring 

  • "New World" Symphony 

  • Ode to Joy 


All seats are $5 and include a student workbook and one teacher guide & concert music. (1 free teacher ticket for every 20 students). Recorders are available to order through the school registration link below for $2.50 apiece.

School Registration:  CLICK HERE



  • LINK UP resources for students.
  • LINK UP curriculum guide for teachers, featuring lessons on singing, playing the soprano recorder, reading and notating music, and composing and improvising
  • Mandatory Professional Development session for participating teachers:                               

                          Wednesday, November 17, 2021 or Tuesday, January 25, 2022 4:30-6 PM                                                                        

  • Access to Carnegie Hall’s online resource center with additional lessons and resources



Meghan McDevitt   
Director of Education
Columbus Symphony Orchestra                   

Special thanks to Music & Arts for their generous support.