Columbus Symphony Orchestra Musicians

Katherine Jones

Katherine Borst Jones, Professor of Flute, at The Ohio State University since 1985, winner of the Distinguished Teacher award in 1995 and 2012, and the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008, she is director of the OSU Flute Troupe with performances at four national (NFA) and four state (OMEA) conventions.

She is a founding member and co-principal flutist of the ProMusica Chamber Orchestra, and of the flute, viola, harp trio, COSMOS, a member of the Columbus Symphony Orchestra and principal flute of the New Sousa Band, which has toured Japan, China and the United States extensively.

Past-President of the National Flute Association, and recipient of the Distinguished Service Award in 2011, she has recorded for CRI, d'Note and Summit, including a flute and harp CD, Paradise. She has commissioned composers Libby Larsen, Michael Ruszczynski, Mark DeVoto, Tom Duffy, Tom Wells, Stephen Paulus, Dale Warland and Rudolfo Bubalo, among others.