Event Calendar

Shaham Plays Prokofiev

Rossen Milanov, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis on Themes of Carl Maria von Weber
Prokofiev: Concerto No. 2 in G Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 63
Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

The orchestra welcomes another world-class American violinist, the revered Grammy-winner, Gil Shaham. He channels all the warmth and humor of Prokofiev’s Concerto No. 2. Rachmaninoff’s final work, the Symphonic Dances, climaxes his composing career with a kaleidoscope of rich orchestral colors and a feast of primary emotions. Paul Hindemith’s hearty, cheerful suite based on piano duets by the early Romantic composer Carl Maria von Weber completes the program.

Friday Dress – April 21, 10am
Join us for free coffee and donuts at Friday’s Dress Rehearsal

 Prelude with Christopher Purdy
 Postlude – CSO Chamber Music