Call for Scores

SCORE with the Columbus SYMPHONY!

The Columbus Symphony, in collaboration with the Johnstone Fund for New Music, has launched an innovative new project to support and feature the compositional talent of Ohio—SCORE with the Columbus Symphony!

Composers of any age that are from Ohio, current residents of Ohio, or current students in Ohio are invited to submit an original composition for consideration. Works selected for participation will be prepared by the Columbus Symphony in a private rehearsal on Tuesday, January 8, 2019, and then performed in a public rehearsal on Wednesday, January 9, 2019. Both sessions will be conducted by Music Director Rossen Milanov.

Compositions must be submitted by September 15, 2018. Selected works will be announced on or about October 15, 2018. There is no fee to enter.

Call for Scores Entry Guidelines:

• Open to composers who are from Ohio, residents of Ohio, or students in Ohio
• No age restriction
• One submission per composer
• Preexisting works are acceptable
• The following is the maximum instrumentation possible for submissions:
2222--4231--t+2--hp--str (10/8/6/5/4)
• Concertos will not be considered
• Length of submissions should not exceed 15 minutes
• Attendance at the reading sessions are required for selected composers
• Recordings of submitted scores are encouraged (midi realizations are acceptable)
• Submitted scores will not be returned
• The number of pieces/composers selected is at the discretion of the adjudicators
• All decisions by the adjudicators are final
• Incomplete submissions will be disqualified
• Submission Deadline: September 15, 2018
• Entry Fee: $0.00

Call for Scores Submissions Information:

Step 1 - Mail a printed score (postmarked by September 15, 2018) to:
Columbus Symphony Orchestra
Attn: Call for Scores
55 East State Street
Columbus, OH 43215

Step 2 - Send an email by September 15, 2018 to the Call for Scores Coordinator, Michael Rene Torres ( with an email subject “CSO Call for Scores” that includes the following submission information:

[1] Full name
[2] Email address
[3] Composition title
[4] Composition instrumentation
[5] Composition duration
[6] A pdf score or a dropbox link to a downloadable score (in addition to the printed/mailed score)
[7] An optional link to a streaming audio file of the composition